Our Top Two

11Apr09

Before we were even engaged, we each knew what our most important item was on our wedding day, other than family, friends and our vows.

For Adam, it’s all about good food. For me, it’s all about good photography. In each case, our most important thing has a family tie, as well as being a favourite thing outside of wedding-world.

Adam’s father is a chef – a really good chef. He’s cooked for a variety of amazing events and important people, but he’s also incredibly humble and appreciates a well-prepared, simple meal more than anyone else I know. He passed on an appreciation of good ingredients, strong technique, and careful preparation to Adam, and as a result, Adam does 90% of the cooking in our house. It also meant that not only does Adam want to eat a good meal at our wedding, he wants to be sure to share a good meal with our loved ones.

My paternal grandfather is one of the best people I’ve ever known. He was a doctor and coroner, and through his work as coroner, he developed a love for photography. Although he had many photos of crime scenes, his favourite and best work was always happier subjects, especially my nana’s garden. After he passed away in 1999, my family spent hours going through his thousands of negatives and slides, sorting out what should be kept. My dad and I packed up a big box of Granddad’s camera equipment and brought it home with us. I now own a mid1970s Minolta SLR with a slightly funny lens focus, and I feel my Granddad with me everytime I use it. Granddad instilled a real love of photography in me, so having a good photographer at our wedding isn’t just about capturing happy memories, it’s also about honouring my granddad.

No Responses Yet to “Our Top Two”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

