Urban Wedding Gala

19Oct08

Yesterday afternoon I went down to the Roundhouse Community Centre with two of my girlfriends, for the Urban Wedding Gala. It was my first wedding show, and I was certainly impressed. For starters, the show was free! This was a huge plus in my opinion, because many of the wedding shows in Vancouver are $25-45 per person, which gets expensive very quickly.

We got there around 3pm, and the room was busy but not overcrowded. The vendors were spread around the room in a big U, with a stage and chairs for the fashion show down the middle. Some of the vendors were of no interest to me whatsoever (half-naked showgirl, anyone?) but there were a few who I have been thinking about hiring, which was super helpful.

Photobooth Vancouver was there, and I have GOT to find room in the budget to hire them! My girl friends and I piled into the photobooth and took some silly pictures, which we got to bring home. The quality is great, the logo at the bottom is customizable, and the price seems really reasonable ($300/hr for set up, an attendant, clean up, prints for the guests, and a CD of all the images for us).

The other vendor I was really keen to see was Pure Something Clothing Co. They make custom dresses, and work with you to design a dress that is flattering and within budget. It was nice to flip through their books and see some of their dresses in the fashion show, rather than just what is on their website. Even if I don’t use Pure Something for my wedding dress, I am really considering going through them for bridesmaid dresses.

Between meeting some great vendors, seeing the fashion show, and getting to sample some great nibblies (gourmet s’mores!), this show was well worth the time and effort to get there.

No Responses Yet to “Urban Wedding Gala”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

