A room with a view

08Sep08

After our site visit that wasn’t in August, I was feeling really discouraged about finding the perfect venue for our wedding. Our first two venue choices had been taken out of the running early on because they were far beyond our budget. I had accepted that, and moved on, but I think I missed out on learning a lesson about letting my heart get attached too soon. In the days leading up to that awful site visit, I was excited and giddy, and felt sure that this was the place for us.

Obviously, that didn’t work out so well!

In the last two weeks, I’ve gotten back to researching possible venues. This Saturday, after I spent the afternoon drinking in the sunshine at the homecoming football game (congrats on the win, T-birds!) with my girlfriends, Adam and I made a quick trip to Gastown. We went to view the Uber Lounge & Atrium at Steamworks Brewing while they were setting up for a cocktail wedding reception.

The lounge is a definite contender for our reception, and the atrium might even provide us an indoor, rain-free ceremony location. The two rooms contrast each other nicely; the lounge is cosy and has low lighting, while the atrium has high ceilings and lots of natural light. The menus from Steamworks sound delicious, and the prices are reasonable. Unfortunately, my camera batteries ran out at homecoming, so I wasn’t able to take pictures of the rooms, which means you’ll just have to deal with a description of my favourite part: the view.

Both rooms have windows all along the north wall, looking out past the train yards, to the Burrard Inlet and the North Shore mountains. The combination of the sea, mountains and very urban train yard is striking, and at night the view would practically sparkle. The windows in the atrium are especially attractive, and would be a perfect ceremony backdrop.

How long did it take you to get back on the planning horse after a setback? Are you struggling not to fall in love with every potential venue, like me?

One Response to “A room with a view”


  1. 1 The two that got away « Inspirations and Ideas

Leave a Reply

