The site visit that wasn’t

18Aug08

A few weeks ago, I wrote that I was excitedly looking forward to a site visit at a potential ceremony/reception venue. My excitement remained until we arrived at the venue, parked, picked up our tickets and parking pass from the cheerful receptionist in the sales office, and went on our way.

Then things went terribly awry.

This venue can only be accessed in one way, a way which involves being in an enclosed space, at a height, for about 10minutes. I’ve never had a fear of heights before, but apparently my fear of falling decided to morph into a fear of enclosed heights about a minute before we were going to make our way up to the venue.

I had a massive panic attack. Crying, hyperventilating, feeling like I was going to vomit. In other words, precisely NOT the emotional or physical response you want associated with a wedding venue. Adam was an all-star, gently helping me attempt to calm down. He called the woman we were to meet and told her that we were very sorry, but a family emergency had come up.

I felt terrible that we had driven across town, embarrassed that I was having this meltdown in public, angry for wasting the staff’s time, and just generally awful. I’ve been so broken up and ashamed about this that it’s taken me over a week to blog about it. I don’t know what triggered this all, but I hope to figure it out.

The Vancouverites who read this may have deciphered which venue this was, but I don’t want to reveal its name just yet, because we are still considering it. I have a lot of soul searching to do first, but in my heart I feel like this is THE place for us. I even had a dream about it last night, for heaven’s sake.

Have you had a negative or embarrassing experience during a site visit, or am I all alone in this?

5 Responses to “The site visit that wasn’t”

  1. 1 Jessica @ budgetsavvybtide

    I went to a restaurant to try some food to possibly use for our wedding catering and had a panic attack because the lobby was filled with so many people. It was 90+ degrees outside and the lobby was too full and the covered porch was full and I couldn’t breathe! I had to get out of there- we ended up taking our food to go instead of waiting in the crowd…

  2. I just finally settled a venue after looking for 6 months! One embarrassing experience we had when looking at a private club was that jeans (amongst other things) are not allowed to be worn in the clubhouse so we couldn’t even take a proper look around since we were both wearing jeans… Kind of embarrassing coz it made us feel really out of place and uncomfortable. Anyway good luck with your search, I can empathize!

  3. Not that I’m impressed a lot, but this is a lot more than I expected for when I stumpled upon a link on SU telling that the info is awesome. Thanks.


  1. 1 A room with a view « Inspirations and Ideas
  2. 2 The two that got away « Inspirations and Ideas

Leave a Reply

