Can I…?

08Aug08

Even before we were engaged, I read a lot of wedding blogs. I liked all the beautiful pictures, the love stories, the craftiness. I still love all those things, but now I also love bookmarking things that might belong at our wedding! But since I started reading my first wedding blog, there’s something that’s been bothering me.

On a regular basis, on blogs and discussions boards, I see brides posting questions that start with “can I” and end with a question about their dress, accessories, colours, food, anything at all. There are always lots of comments talking about the pros and cons of each decision, and good discussion usually comes out of their question.

But here’s the secret very few people talk about – you can do whatever you want. If you and your partner are happy with it, you can do it. There is no “right” way to have a wedding! Whether you are a very traditional bride or a completely indie bride, the decisions can only be made by what feels right to you. People will gossip no matter what you do, so why build your wedding around the haters?

3 Responses to “Can I…?”

  1. I fully agree. As I am planning my own wedding, I find myself asking this question too. And I’ve learned that if I want to wear blue earrings, I will. And if people don’t like it, that’s fine because I like it. (and my wedding day is all about me, RIGHT? lol)

  2. 2 Marianne

    Glad to hear you’re doing what makes you happy, Erica! Thanks for the comment.

  3. It is also amazing sometimes at what you think will freak people out but really doesn’t. We’re having a halloween reception and so far everyone thinks it’ll be fun or cool, and no one has said they think it’s innapropriate or won’t be coming.


Leave a Reply

