Rich Bride, Poor Bride

24Jul08

I came home from work a little earlier than usual today, and caught an episode of Rich Bride, Poor Bride. I’ve seen this show before, but never a whole episode. The short version of my feelings about this show? What. The. Heck.

The show follows a couple through their wedding planning, focusing on their budgetting decisions. At the end of the episode, they reveal the total cost of the wedding, and whether it went over or under their budget.

This particular episode featured a couple who were constantly bickering about their decisions. She didn’t want to have any alcohol, and he ignored her and demanded a bar. He wanted to be careful about their money, and she bought four pairs of shoes and refused to return any of them. Their wedding planner constantly fought with them and his assistant. It was generally just… awkward and a little painful to watch.

At the end, they revealed that their budget had been $30 000. That seems like a lot of money to me, but I can certainly see how a couple with more money and in a bigger city could spend that much. Then they revealed their actual spending, and this is where they totally lost me. They spent $50 000 in total. First of all, that’s enough money to put a down payment on a HOUSE. Second of all, that’s almost twice their original budget.

What. The. Heck!!

I understand that not all budgets are set in stone, and that many people will go over their budgets by a bit. Going over budget by thousands of dollars, though, just seems irresponsible. How is that a healthy way to start a marriage? How does that prepare a couple to negotiate bills, mortgage payments, or other expenses, or to live within their means when they go through hard times?

I feel like shows like Rich Bride Poor Bride make it acceptable to go over budget, because they treat it in a very glib way, like it’s really not a big deal. With the economy slowing down across Canada and the US, this seems especially irresponsible. Our dollar certainly doesn’t go as far as it did even six months ago, and while our wedding days are deeply important, that shouldn’t come at the detriment of our future marriages.

10 Responses to “Rich Bride, Poor Bride”

  1. Thanks for sharing ideas and writing this post. Looking forward to more of your stuff. Hopefully you update your Blog often since you have found a loyal visitor .

  2. Wonderful goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to
    and you are just extremely wonderful. I actually like what you have acquired
    here, really like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it wise. I can not wait to read far more from you. This is actually a tremendous site.

  3. I’ve learn several good stuff here. Certainly value bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how a lot effort you put to create the sort of wonderful informative site.

  4. Now I am going away to do my breakfast, once having my breakfast coming
    over again to read additional news.

  5. I know this web page provides quality depending posts and
    other information, is there any other website which offers such data in
    quality?

  6. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I
    get four emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove people
    from that service? Bless you!

  7. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.
    I will be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your
    helpful information. Thank you for the post. I’ll certainly comeback.

  8. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after browsing through
    some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely delighted I found
    it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back frequently!

  9. Hi mates, nice paragraph and good arguments commented at this place, I am truly enjoying by these.

  10. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was a amusement
    account it. Look advanced to more added agreeable from you!
    By the way, how can we communicate?


Leave a Reply

