Dress Shopping #2(ish)

21Jul08

I’m calling this dress shopping #2(ish) because I haven’t set foot in a bridal store since my first experience with my mum. What I have been doing is looking around online and bookmarking like crazy. If you’re like me, you’re all about the pictures, so this post will be far more interesting than my first dress shopping post!

First up, the “if we won the lottery” dresses:

Jim Hjelm JH8807. This one is made from silk satin, comes in a variety of shades, and has an stunningly low back. It’s detailed without being fussy or overdone.

Jim Hjelm 31233794. This one is sleek, even with the lace overlay. It’s got some va-va-voom, but it’s still “Grandma-friendly”. It’s delicate and sweet, without being cloying. It’s also in Kleinfeld’s single $ category, which means it’s $1500-3000 – way too much for me!

Next, we have a slightly more casual number:

Calvin Klein Bias Cut Satin Gown, sold out at Nordstrom’s. This was my favourite when we were still considering a destination wedding. It’s light and sexy, but still sophisticated and elegant.

And finally, my current favourite:

David’s Bridal P9345. I think a dress like this would really play up my curves, and be really adaptable to a fall or winter wedding. The only downside is that it is strapless, and that’s not going to work for me.

These are just a few of my favourites so far. I’ve ripped countless pages out of magazines and my bookmarks folder is ever-increasing. I’m noticing that I’m drawn to a lot of lace dresses, which may or may not work with my body. I’ve got a little belly and crazy curves and I don’t know whether lace sheath dresses are the most complementary style.

I’m also loving all the dresses with pleating or rouching, which seem to really draw attention to the natural curves of women’s bodies. They’re also a nice way to add detailing without beading or embroidery.

It’s funny to compare my initial favourites to what I like now. The Calvin Klein above is an example of the first group of dresses, which were lightweight, sexy, and airy. They were perfect for casual, beach weddings or destination weddings. If we were to run away and get married on an island, I’d still go with something like that. What I like now is more structured, traditional and formal. They’re sexy but in a more classy, understated way. Who knows what will happen when I actually, physically go dress shopping next!

8 Responses to “Dress Shopping #2(ish)”

  1. 1 Diane

    How much does the Jim Hjelm JH8807 retail for?

  2. 2 Marianne

    Hi Diane, thanks for the comment! I don’t know how much the Jim Hjelm is, just that it’s too much for my budget.

  3. 3 lashonda

    You can get the David’s Bridal P9345 with straps. I just left their store and tried it on. It is beautiful and I hear even better in Ivory.

  4. Accessories Ink People and eye color does not change the color of glitter.
    In that case, I’ve got some terrific advice for you. Proper care should be observed when owning color contact lenses.

  5. 5 Kathryn

    Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your content seem to be running
    off the screen in Internet explorer. I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I figured I’d post
    to let you know. The style and design look great though!
    Hope you get the issue resolved soon. Thanks

  6. The spinning flagpole mounts on your house, deck or mailbox post, and is designed to keep your flag from wrapping.
    While a love of plants or nature inspires cottage and Asian gardens,
    formal garden designs express the humanistic value of people as the center of the cosmos.
    Many big thinkers over many years have come back
    again and again to humanity’s desire to make sense of the hugeness of
    the universe by making small imitations of it in which to
    live – the garden, which directly refers to the ultimately terrifying wildness that used
    to sit outside every cave in the world, is probably the ultimate
    example of this urge.

  7. Hey there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my facebook group?

    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your
    content. Please let me know. Thank you

  8. It’s awesome in favor of me to have a web site,
    which is beneficial in favor of my knowledge. thanks admin


Leave a Reply

